Our Board

Bendigo Volunteer Resource Centre Inc. Board Members 2018



Julie Rivendell – Retired Councillor

Julie Rivendell has a professional background spanning education, health and community services in metropolitan, regional and rural environments. She has worked professionally for Commonwealth, State, and Local Governments; and in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors. Her interests include good governance, service planning, and service development.
As a former Councillor and Mayor of the City of Greater Bendigo, she served on a number of advisory committees including: Finance, Arts and Culture, Natural Environment, and the Calder Regional Waste Management Group (Chair). She is currently Chairperson of the Bendigo Community Sister Cities Committee Inc., Deputy Chair of Bendigo Volunteer Resource Centre Board, and on a number of Council Advisory committees.
Julie has demonstrated an active, inclusive and constructive way of working with others and is generally acknowledged as a conscientious and hard working community leader. During her Council term she helped develop Greater Bendigo’s Health and Wellbeing Plan, Natural Environment Strategy, and Economic Development Strategy.


Deputy Chair

James Breene – Volunteer Services Manager (St John of God Hospital)

James joined the Bendigo Volunteer Resource Centre Board in late 2015. He has worked for St John of God Bendigo Hospital since 2013 and is currently the Volunteer Services Manager. He has also held a number of roles within the Mission, Social Outreach, and Pastoral Care portfolios.
He previously held roles in volunteer management, quality, risk and accreditation with Bendigo Health Care Group. James has also worked in international manufacturing companies and laboratories, in both quality assurance and quality control.
James has volunteered his own time within emergency services, school, and community settings. A regular plasma donor he is just about to make his 200th donation with the Red Cross Blood Bank.



Mike Kiernan – Retired Executive Manager

Mike joined the Board in 2016.  He has a professional background spanning finance, administration and operations.  He has worked for a number of prominent Bendigo organisations.  His qualifications include a Bachelor of Business (Accounting).   Mike is also on the boards of Amicus Group Inc and the Rats of Tobruk Association Inc.



Helen Yorston – Manager, Bendigo Volunteer Resource Centre Inc.

Helen is a founding member and manager of the Bendigo Volunteer Resource Centre since its inception in June 2002. She has extensive experience and knowledge in all things volunteering, and is the Facilitator of the Bendigo Volunteer Leaders’ Network and Treasurer of Victorian Volunteer Support Network.

She is also currently a Director and Board Secretary of the Bendigo Trust, Company Secretary for the Board of Management Interchange Loddon Mallee Inc., Life member and Vice-President of the Bendigo Easter Fair Society, Trustee of Bendigo Community Theatre & Arts Public Fund, Justice of the Peace, and Secretary of the Bendigo Branch of Honorary Justices. Helen was previously an Executive Assistant at the Bendigo Trust.

Ordinary Board Members

John Willis – Community Development Officer, Golden City Support Services

John Willis works as a Community Development Officer with Golden City Support Services – a non-government organisation providing disability, mental health, and dementia supports based in Bendigo. He has worked in the field of disability support for the last 20 years.

In 2002 John co-founded CreateAbility, an arts organisation providing opportunities for people of all abilities to express themselves and connect with others. CreateAbility produces workshops, projects, and events across a range of visual and performing arts forms. In 2013 John completed a Masters in Community Cultural Development with the Victorian College of the Arts (University of Melbourne).

Paul Kirkpatrick – JP, MBA, GAICD, FCHSM, BHA, BAppSc

Prior to retirement, Paul held CEO and senior management positions in health and human services organisations, and now enjoys active service with many community organisations. As well as Chair of the BVRC for the past 5 years, Paul is an active JP in the Bendigo region and enjoys short engagements as relieving CEO in not-for-profit organisations.
He is also Deputy Chair of Rotary Youth Camp Inc, [Camp Getaway (Rotary D9800)], a $1.2m project of the 70 Rotary Clubs in Rotary District 9800 to redevelop a former youth camp at Axedale Victoria, as a state of the art recreation camp for people of all abilities, and as a respite resource for carers and others.

David Wright – Retired Council Executive

David has been involved with the centre since its inception in 2002, having been a member of a working group that recognised the need for this vital service in our community. His long involvement in Local Government gave him the insight to understand how volunteering can be the” glue” that binds community together and builds a caring and responsive community. Since that time he has occupied the positions of Secretary and Treasurer, and as a volunteer coordinated the Skilled Volunteer Group.
His involvement with the community is extensive holding life memberships at the Bendigo Trust where he is currently Chairman, Capital Theatre, Bendigo Community Theatre and Arts, and the Bendigo Easter Fair Society. He is also Chairman of the Eaglehawk Community House, Treasurer for the Honorary Justices Bendigo Branch, member of the Bendigo Health Volunteer Reference Group, member of the Regional Archives Advisory Committee, and Trustee for the Bendigo Community Theatre and Arts.
Prior to retirement David spent 50 years in Local Government serving as Shire Secretary in two municipalities, and holds accounting and municipal clerk qualifications.

Greg Noonan – Retired Professional

Greg has been on the Board of the BVRC since November 2017 and has been the previous Honorary Auditor. He is immediate past President of Eaglehawk Community House and is a long serving of the Rotary Club of Bendigo South.